Posted by: Zen | June 30, 2012

Zen and the Summer Sailstice …2012′

It was a grand and glorious summer day on Sat the 23. It was not the real summer solstice but it was the official celebration day for the summer sail event.

I had been contacted by Capt Mary of Afterguard academy to take a few passengers and join in the sailing event for the day.

I arrived at the marina a little early to setup the boat. I was surprised to find I had missed the boat. I felt like I was seeing my child, my boat after an absence. It did feel funny getting on it and standing with the boat moving so much because of it’s lightness, after just being on the ZenCat these days.

As it turned out I had the boat of color. Two Philippinas and a guy of middle (I think) eastern background. I was not sure how the guy was going to do. I had heard him before asking about having to wear a life jacket, then say you know it is not required by law to wear, speaking to the skipper of the boat he was on. This time he gave me the same run down. I thought it was kind of rude asking someone who is a lic Captan if they knew it was not the law the wear one. I let my ego go and just said, it is not the federal law but it is on MY boat and my law overrides the others. He turned out to be a nice guy after that bit of challenge was over. Polite, helpful and a pretty good sailor. Zena and Lou the two ladies were nice. Zena had some sailing classes before.

The wind was prefect, we needed to reef for the Zen 24 but it was very comfortable after the sails were trimmed to the conditions. Unlike Sensei I was not trying to show how well the boat could handle stronger conditions. I just wanted a comfortable ride for my crew and me.

Little by little we made our way out of the estuary. It was slow going. Not because I could not get speed but I was suppose to bring up the rear with the group and I keep needing to slow down in order not to pass the others.

Once out on the Bay we had a very nice sail, no tacking just a smooth ride. That part was fun. There were a lot of boats out and about over in the slot where the winds are more intense. We however were nit going that far out because we were, I thought suppose to be joining the parade. Therefore we headed back down the estuary after a bit. Another reason wad we needed to make a pit stop at Jack London since the Zen Boat head is not legal to use here in the States as yet.

We made good time going back down the estuary since the wind was at our back. We stopped into Jack London for a quick bladder break, before heading down further to the summer Sailstice Headquarters at the Encinal Yacht Club.

I looked for the sailing persession but only saw a group of dinghy racers, so I made a couple of passes in front of the judges stand to bring some attention to the Zen24.

Our next move was to head back to the Afterguard office. There we, mostly me put the boat away for the evening.

Afterward I headed back over to the Encinal YC. There with my Zen24 shirt I set about chatting with a few people and smozzing in general. The Blue Pelican Crew was in the house.

Annocements were made, awards issued, alcohol flowed, I left. It was a good day. It was not as involved with the sailstice o had hoped, but it was ok.

I expect this event to double in size next year. I hope to organize a Summer Sailstice event in Japan next year, under the sponsorship of AOKI Yacht club and corporation.

Responses

  1. Always wanted to make a horror flick “Pecked to Death” about killer ducks. You are on the way to a classic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

