Posted by: Zen | July 5, 2010

4th of July weekend 2010…booms and temptation

It was my first weekend off in a month, I was looking forward to it. Even though I had work to do down on the boat. You know the saying…

So I will not go into it. The weather was warm and near perfect, if I was sail-able I would have went out. However the plan was to sew the UV cover on the Roller Jib remove the boom and replace, have lunch, change the oil and secure the temp porta pottie. All that was on my plate however I no intention of doing the whole gamit. A guy was coming to bring me a used boom, as mine was corroded in a few place and starting to crack.

I did not trust it after looking at it. Maybe I was just being paranoid.

So I spent the morning and a large part of the afternoon sewing the UV cover on the rolling jib. Not a great job, but since it was coming off, it is now better than it was, even with my poor hand sewing. Another way of looking at it, I got some practice on sail repair.  So the Jib is fixed and back up on the boat. That was a long involved job, but done and I have mast steps because of it.  I still need to add three more at the top of the mast. I had thought I would have time to do that but no. Nor the oil change..no

The guy came by with the replacement boom, also brought me a whisker/spinnaker pole and 100 ft of anchor chain for $200.00 bucks. A great deal…delivered. A whisker pole alone would have cost me $150.00 at the consignment store. One guy one Ebay wanted to sell me a boom for 200.00 plus shipping. Another guy wanted me to buy his whole boat to get the boom. So I am pleased with the deal. He has a windlass I may pickup…I wonder if I really need, it. I’m thinking of cutting down the 10o ft of chain into two 25 ft sections and one 50 ft which I will sell. I have a few days to think on it.

Sunday the 4th:

I spent most of the day, taking off the hardware from the old mast. I mounted the new one on the boat on Sat., Sun I wanted to finish the job. I screwed, hammed and banged the old parts of the old boom and was able to get the new boom mostly hooked up and the new parts installed. I need to pickup a few sheet metal screws from the Hardware store which was closed on the holiday, before I can complete the job. The Old Boom it self is in good shape it is just the end that are messed up. I’m not sure if I should try to sell the boom at the consignment store or sell the aluminum.

Another things that happened whilst down at the marina I spoke with the guy who is selling the Catameran. He said he dropped the price because he will be buying a bigger one soon. He would even take my boat as part payment. Hmmmmm. I had LZ come look at eh Cat on Sunday she really liked it. She like the size and layout as well as having a separate dining room/lounge and a small shower and flat standing galley. The price is still on the high side, but if I took most of my retirement saving ( what is left after the big financial bummer of the last two years), I could get it. However should I is the question. We can travel much more comfortable, when in Japan we could stay on it more comfortable until we found a home there are some advantages… as well as some disadvantages, like using up most of our funds and still needing to do some things to get ready to move. I need to spend about 10 grand on s/v zen to get her ready. If I add another 15 or less to that I can buy this baby, a 30fter, and be pretty much ready to go. :

______

The Iroquois is an English built cruising catamaran that can sleep 8 and is bluewater capable.
Sisterships have circumnavigated and many have substantially cruised. The Iroquois has a reputation of being a great sailing boat that is fast and points well. It has adjustable leeboards and kick up rudders. It draws 18” with the leeboards up and 5′ with them down.

At 13.6 feet wide it has a lot of interior space but can still fit in a normal size slip. It has two doubles in the two aft cabins, two singles in the forward areas of the pontoons and the table in the main salon converts to a double. The headroom is 4’11” on the bridgedeck and 6’3″ in the pontoons.

They have a great owner’s group that’s been active since the 1960s and is a great source of information. The current website is www.iroquois.org.uk .

It’s in good sailing condition with many upgrades. It’s not perfect cosmetically but is in great structural shape. Below is a list of equipment.

25 HP Honda four stroke extra long shaft motor with 10 hours use and
remote control at helm
Full batten mainsail with 2 reef points
Lightly used 120% Quantum furling jib
Light air drifter sail
Cockpit length traveler with low friction mainsheet blocks
Adjustable jibsheet tracks
Harken Furling system
Rebuilt leeboards and rudders
35 lbs CQR anchor, 15 ft chain, 175 rode
Danforth secondary anchor
Masthead windspeed and direction instruments
Tabernacle mast step for lowering the mast at the slip
Stay-loc type swageless rigging terminals

Origo 6000 2 burner stove with oven
Coleman cooler that runs off 12 or 120 volts
Propane on-demand water heater for shower
Pressurized water system in galley and head

26 gallons water + space for additional 25 gallons
15+6 gallons fuel tanks

1 deep-cycle marine starting battery
2 6 volt in series golf cart house batteries
Guest battery charger
VHF radio
Radio with CD player with outdoor speakers in cockpit

________

So that was the weekend, no sailing but did get some things done down on the boat, acquired some major things to think about…Zen II…?

Responses

  1. Productive weekend – seems like we seldom get done everything we plan, ah well.

    Normally, I’d keep my thoughts to myself on the cat, but since you asked, here are my two yen on the topic.

    First, I looked at the Iriquois link you provided. On the page that lists boats and owners I see a lot of them have capsized. I would look into that before buying a boat for crossing the ocean. There is a discussion of it here: The James Wharram Catamaran Forums – Stability

    Secondly, IMHO the world’s economic mess is not getting much better anytime soon and even if you are optimistic about it, I would council not to bet a big chunk of your savings on it. You may need that nest egg and if it is tied up in a boat it could take a long time to sell it and you may not get as much as you would like or need.

    So, again, just my opinion, but I’d say pass on the cat and focus on making your boat as seaworthy, safe, and perhaps comfortable, as you can.

    All the best.

    • Thanks for the feedback! I am still investigating the boats. I have a friend who is doing some work on one and he is very helpful .

      I am under the impression many are operator errors. If I buy this boat or any other it will be my last boat purchase and will not be looking to resell any time in the near future.

      Good advice though, Thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

