Posted by: Zen | August 22, 2008

The Tranny saga continues…

Well I was seriously bummed about the transmission problem on the boat. It is still unresolved. I went back down the other day to try my hand at undoing the damage. After speaking with an A4 expert, he thought I could un- do my screwup. However after a couple of hours crunched in a ball in the access location trying to fix it. I gave up thinking the only way I can do this is to pull the motor. Not a real formitable job, but more of a hassle. I re-consulted the expert after ordering his video on the A4 transmission. I did not feel right about getting all the free guidance when he sells tapes and DVD on the subject. Anyway he felt I could DO it with the motor in. The only thing I would gain is some working space. He told me what need to be aglined and that was helpful. He said I will be able to see better from the Tape, but his guidance gave me some confidence to give it another shot before the tape arrives in a week.

I was pretty bummed I could possibly not make it to the All Islander event this year after looking forward to it. However I still have a 3 weeks to make the repair. Also I got a back up plan. I can buy a used outboard mount fairly cheap and the lady who purchase Kuan Yin said I could borrow her Honda outboard. That was the big cost item, so that works out. I can have a bracket mount so in the future when I get a tender and motor, if I need to use a outboard as a backup I can use the one from the tender for double duty. Yokata!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

